My sewing “experience”

My sewing “experience”

Hello,

Welcome to my blog.

This post title might be a bit deceiving. It as nothing to do with being an experienced seamstress, because believe me, I’m not. It is about experimenting as I think that is the best way to describe my sewing endeavor.

So let me tell you a little story:

When I was young I remember seeing my mother sewing a couple of times, always cursing the sewing machine. She loved knitting  and tried to teach me, but with no luck.

 Image

Vest knitted by my mother

I was born and raised in Lisbon but spent my school holydays in my parents craddle village, 300km away. My grandparents lived there. My grandmother (from my father’s side) was blind since I can remember, and although I never saw it, I’ve been told she was a handful seamstress. Her daugther (my aunt) inherited her talent, and my cousins were always in beautiful dresses handmade by their mom.

In my teens I was a bit of a fashionista, but never had any interest in making my own clothes (I still remembered how it stressed out my mom).

Then I grew up, I got married and I had a little girl. She rocked my world.

My DNA finally woke up and I started doing what my genes were programed to do, be a mother and sew, and sew, and sew…

 9316692842_a70ac10a74_o

My latest project here

… and now blog.

Hugs and kisses.

6 thoughts on “My sewing “experience”

  1. Nice story…let’s hope your new blog makes history! I’ll be following it. All the best for this new project. Kisses

    1. Olá Magda,

      Também não conhecia o teu blog 😦 É incrivel, pois conhecemos outros de paragens bem distantes e afinal também os há tão bons e tão perto ;-).
      Vou seguir-te. Bjs.

Leave a Reply

