Testing – part 2

Testing – part 2

Hi,

Here I am to show you the other pattern I tested for Willow & Co.

It was, once again, a pattern from the always amazing Celina Bailey

The Elm Raincoat Poncho 😀

IMG_3553

I know I said I would post it in the 22nd, but “life” just got in the way.

With spring break over, getting back to the routine was a bit hard on me and my children. We had a great time on our little vacation ❤

Anyway, back to the pattern…

IMG_3641

… in one word…

… AMAZING ❤ ❤ ❤

IMG_3652

The pattern states it is a raincoat, so a water proof fabric (like oilcloth) it’s probably a much better choice then the one I used, but I was over my “new fabric budget” for this month, so I had to stick with what I had laying around.

I got this fabric in end of the bolt sale, and it is a kind of quilted velour, with batting, which makes it perfect for lining a winter coat. This was actually what I had intended for it but testing a new pattern is most definatly higher in my priority list 🙂

That being said, I think my choice wasn’t the best. The poncho became quite heavy as the result of using such fabric + quilting cotton for the lining. It is warm and cozy (that is nice) but I don’t think my daugther will wear it this season 😦

Thank God for seasons coming and going, as I think this will be perfect for next winter 😀

IMG_3569

The pattern has a lot of details that make it quite unique. I love the hood with the visor and the welt pockets in the front seams, which makes it very “teenager” friendly, but you could also choose to sew big or little ears on the hood and patch pockets on the front, and that completly changes the mood for baby or toddler ❤

I am so gratefull I tested this pattern and the Ash Jumpsuit. I learned a lot of new things. I got to meet some extraordinary women, some of them my “neigh-bours“, and I was left with amazing pieces of clothing that look like couture.

Despite the hard work that is a win-win in my book 🙂

IMG_3582

She was trying to lift off …

IMG_3584

… in her mind I think she did ❤

Hugs and kisses.

11 thoughts on “Testing – part 2

  1. Pode não ser impermeável mas não deixa de ser fantástico! Gosto muito! E o tecido do forro dá-lhe um ar tão giro! Ando com ganas de o fazer mas ainda não consegui comprar tecido impermeável… (É difícil de encontrar…)

      1. Se precisarem que alguém vos arranje uns laminados aqui em Lisboa é só dizer!! 😉 A loja onde fui também tinha oilcloth, que é mais fino que o laminado… E o Ikea tem oversized polka dot impermeável! 😀

  2. Your poncho is fantastic. I really hope your daughter will get lots of use for it in the fall. Thank you for your hard work and for being an amazing tester. xxx

  3. Gostei tanto de ver esta versão! Assim que vi esta pattern pensei só em tecido impermeável e fiquei positivamente surpreendida por ver que funciona tão bem noutros tecidos!! Adorei! 😀

    1. Obrigada Inês 🙂 Eu também preferia tê-lo feito impermeável e também andei em Campo de Ourique a espreitar, mas o orçamento já estava limitado e lembrei-me de usar o acolchoado que tinha lá em casa desde dezembro. É bastante quentinho, mas um pouco pesado 😦
      A ideia do IKEA entusiasmou-me, tenho que ir lá espreitar 😀

  4. Eu adoro esta versão – pelas fotos não dá para ver se ficou pesado: É que ficou tão giro e parece tão quentinho para o inverso (a pála é o máximo!).
    Parabéns!!

    1. Obrigada, o molde em si leva muito tecido, por isso acho que só mesmo com tecido de gabardine é que não fica pesadote. No entanto é super confortável e quentinho 🙂

Leave a Reply

