Pinspiration

Pinspiration

Hi there,

You know how most of us “sewing-moms” are in love with Pinterest??? (You know what I’m talking about right???)

I love (love, love, love, love, love…) Pinterest. For me it is one endeless source of inpiration, specially when it comes to children’s clothing.

I have been thinking about this idea for quite some time, and when I saw the amazing flip Courtney made with the Croquet Dress for the Flip This Pattern series, inspired by one of my favorite dresses on Pinterest, I knew it was time to put it in action.

So, inspired by another Oscar Dress I made this:

074

I choosed a light green fabric, so it wouldn’t be exactly like the inspiration dress (and because I couldn’t find light blue striped seersucker anywere, I admit), and added a neon coloured rick-rack for a more edgy/contemporaneous look – after all neons are in 😉

052a

For the accent pieces I used white cotton piqué, my favorite kind of fabric after lawn.

After the enthusiastic response my daugther gave the Lotta Dress, I thought this would be one adored dress, but nooooo. She actually said she hates it, between tears and tantrums 😦 😦 😦

It really makes me sad, because I think she looks adorable in it. This dress turned out really nice, more than the pictures can show. I think the green on green background doesn’t do this dress the justice it deserves, but I’m not trying for another photo shoot (this one already cost me ten bucks).

133a

I decide to do a box pleat on the back of the dress, same way as the front, but that did’nt work very well. When she walks the pleat opens and it doesn’t look very flatering. I’m still thinking if I should give me the trouble of changing it. And Yeahhhh, I instaled an invisible zipper… it wasn’t easy, but it wasn’t as hard as I expected 🙂

Now for the important part. You may have guessed it already…

Technical

  • Pattern: The Lotta Dress from Compagnie M
  • Modifications to the pattern: I used the instructions for the look n.6 of Five and Ten Designs ebook to alter the bodice. I didn’t use their pattern because I wanted a fitted bodice.
  • Size: 9
  • Fabric: Seersucker and piqué

146

This is the nicest photo I got from this shoot… can you see how miserable she was 😦

Hugs and Kisses

8 thoughts on “Pinspiration

    1. Sim, o rick-rack é aquele verde/amarelo muito fluorescente. Dá um ar bem moderno ao vestido.
      Eu adoro, até porque acho que ficou muito parecido com o do Oscar de La Renta. Já estou a imaginar-me em Paris a criar modelitos de alta-costura para criancinhas… com mais “finess” do que a minha 😉

  1. É uma pena ela não ter gostado! Ficou muito próximo do original! 🙂 eu bem sei como é, sempre que acabo uma coisa nova a minha filha nem sequer quer experimentar… Ás vezes não me contenho e digo-lhe que nunca mais lhe faço nada, mas arrependo-me porque ela fica toda triste… Lol

    1. Obrigada Inês. Quando a minha era mais nova e não queria experimentar, eu dizia que ia dar a uma das suas amiguinhas e ela mudava logo de ideias (shame on me, I know). Agora só lá vai mesmo com “suborno” (shame, shame, shame on me). O pior é que a cada dia que passa o “cachet” é maior. Estas modelos de hoje em dia são umas divas 😀

  2. Eu também gosto imenso (aliás também tenho o vestido do Oscar de la Renta no meu pinterest)! Ficou super giro e o rick-rack dá-lhe um ar super moderno 🙂
    Ainda assim acho que tens sorte; a minha apesar de gostar e vestir tudo o que lhe faço (também, verdade seja dita, se não os vestir, fica mesmo com muito poucas opções) é um martírio para as fotos (já nem vai lá com subornos nem falinhas mansas …).

    1. Obrigada Sofia, onde achas tu que o fui “roubar”. Eu adoro o teu pinterest, tu sabes ❤
      Na verdade, nós chamamos-lhe "ordenado" (para não pesar tanto na consciência). Ela está a trabalhar para mim, tem direito ao fruto do trabalho 😉

Leave a Reply

