KCW Summer 2014 – Day 1

KCW Summer 2014 – Day 1

Hello,

It’s day 1 of KCW and as usual I’m super excited. I didn’t participate in the last two editions (Winter and Spring), but I will definatly try my hardest to participate as much as I can this time around.

I actualy think summer sewing is the best for the KCW chalenge. If we are supose to dedicate one hour a day for sewing, there are no better projects than summer clothes.

With the last fiasco still in my mind, I decided to listen to what my daugther had to say about the clothes I make her. She complaint a lot about that pleated skirt not twirling, so guess what…

153a

… I made her a twirly skirt 😀

For this skirt I used a medium weight cotton interlock, wich is the perfect fabric, it drapes really nicely but it is still light enough for the intended twirl factor.

133a

I used the Flutter Skirt Tutorial from Figgy’s, and this is most definatly a one hour project, especially if you don’t take the time to properly hem the skirt, like me (and that is why knits are also a great fabric 🙂 🙂 🙂 )

183

I choosed the stripe print, because I liked the way it looked in the tutorial cover, and I love how my stripes look curvy, almost like a rainbow ❤

totally subverted the theme of this KCW and asked my kids to make art inspired by the clothes I sew. This is what my boy made:IMG_4625 (2)

I told him to draw a rainbow and gave him the colors we was allowed to use… do you think I condition him much…. no, no I think not 😉

And now for the user veredict…144

143

145

… do I really need to say anything 😀

Hugs and kisses

8 thoughts on “KCW Summer 2014 – Day 1

  1. That is a great skirt! So wearable and the stripes are perfect. I’m trying to get some things together for KCW before we head out of town later this week. I was planning to ignore the theme because I just can’t juggle that much- but I like your idea of art inspired by clothes 🙂

  2. What a cool Skirt Carla!!! The fabric is really nice, and I’d probably do the same when it comes to hemming, lol. How nice that she Loved it too! I get the same problem with my daughter and the things I sew sometimes and I allways get thrilled when she loves it! 😉

    1. Obrigada Sofia, somos como umas “trend-setters”. Vamos por as riscas de volta no mapa da moda infantil. E aproveitamos a boleia e acabamos de vez com T-shirts das princesas e itens afins 😀

Leave a Reply

